California, Indiana and St. Louis crowned PHL Champions | North American Prospects Hockey League | NAPHL
North American Prospects Hockey League logo North American Prospects Hockey League
A Step Above the Rest NA3HL NAHL USA Hockey T1ER NAHL Combines

California, Indiana and St. Louis crowned PHL Champions

February 20, 2012

PHL Championship Monday wrapped-up at the Troy Sports Center and three new Champions were crowned for the 2011-12 season.  Here is a look at the results:

18U Division

Pittsburgh 2 vs. California 4 - The California Titans scored the final three goals of the game to become the first team in the 18U Division to win two PHL Championships (2010, 2012), as they defeated the #1 seed Pittsburgh Viper Stars.   Sam Bratten started the scoring for California, but that was answered back by a power play goal from Pittsburgh’s Bob Tritschler to tie the score at 1-1 after the 1st period.  Heinz Koster gave Pittsburgh a 2-1 lead late in the 2nd period, but the turning point of the game may have been Brandon Anderson’s goal with just :08 seconds remaining in the 2nd period to tie the score and give the Titans some much needed momentum heading into the 3rd period.  Just :34 seconds into the 3rd period Chandler Madry scored a shorthanded marker to continue the momentum and put California ahead for good.  Tyler Keturi added an empty-net goal and the #3 seed Titans locked up their second PHL title in the last three years.  Jackson Germaine was solid as ever between the pipes making 38 saves, while Michael Cheswick took the loss making 19 saves. Boxscore

16U Division

Texas 0 vs. Indiana 3 – Chase Monroe was a rock between the pipes for Indiana, as he stopped all 36 Texas shots as the Jr. Ice won their first PHL 16U Championship, shutting out the Cinderella Texas Tornado, 3-0.  Monroe only gave up one goal in three games during the PHL Championship series, stopping a possible 93 of 94 shots on the weekend.  Texas outshot Indiana and managed to take a scoreless tie into the 3rd period.  However, Indiana turned up the pressure as Stephen Pack scored four minutes into the period giving the Ice a lead they would never lose.  Drew Doyon (a Corpus Christi tender) scored the final two goals for Indiana, including an empty-netter as the Ice went onto the 3-0 win and their first PHL Championship.  Texas goalie Jay Harrington was solid between the pipes in defeat making 27 saves. Boxscore

14U Division

San Jose 0 @ St. Louis 4 – The St. Louis Selects won their first PHL Championship thanks to a 4-0 shutout win over the San Jose Jr. Sharks.  St. Louis outshot the Sharks 30-12.  Dalton Parrish gave the Selects a 1-0 lead early in the 1st period and Shane Quinn made it 2-0 at the intermission.  The dagger may have come early in the 2nd period as Charlie Corbett scored shorthanded to make it 3-0 St. Louis.  Joey Rosa finished off the scoring with a goal in the 3rd period.  Brendan Ritchie also chipped in offensively with two assists.  Goaltender Ellis Burgett, who recently was named as a 14U Pointstreak Peak Performers, stopped all 12 St. Louis shots for the shutout.  Devin Cooley made 26 saves in the loss.  Boxscore

18U PHL Champions: 2012-California Titans, 2011-DC Capitals, 2010-California Titans
16U PHL Champions: 2012-Indiana Jr. Ice, 2011-Pikes Peak Miners, 2010-Pikes Peak Miners
14U PHL Champions: 2012-St. Louis Selects, 2011-Rocky Mountain RoughRiders

Bauer True Temper Hockey USA Hockey
USPA Hockeyak Warroad Howies Hockey Tape Lettermen Sports DASH Digital Auction Showdown K1 Sportswear Official Game Puck
HockeyWolf Bethel University Avis Car Rental Budget Car Rental Ace Rent A Car
Neutral Zone CaptainU NSC Super Rink Source One Digital
Let's Play Hockey Let's Play Hockey USA Hockey Magazine MYHockey Rankings

Terms of Use