2017 Dixon Cup Championship less than a week away | North American Prospects Hockey League | NAPHL
North American Prospects Hockey League logo North American Prospects Hockey League
A Step Above the Rest NA3HL NAHL USA Hockey T1ER NAHL Combines

2017 Dixon Cup Championship less than a week away

February 13, 2017

The 2017 North American Prospects Hockey League (NAPHL) Dixon Cup Championship, which will be played February 17-20 at the Troy Sports Center in Troy, Michigan (18U and 16U) and Fraser Hockeyland in Fraser, Michigan (15U), is less than a week away.

All NAPHL teams will compete in the event, with Championships being decided in the Gold (Championship) and Silver (Consolation) Divisions. All five NAPHL Championship games will be played on Monday morning, February 20th at the Troy Sports Center.

All games will be broadcast live on HockeyTV

The top 10 teams from each of the NAPHL 18U and the 16U divisions qualified for the Gold Division of the playoffs. The remainder of the teams will compete in the Silver Division for the Consolation Championship. In the 15U Division, all nine teams will compete for the Championship. Last season, the Madison Capitols won the 18U Championship, while the Omaha AAA Hockey Club won the 16U title. This is the first season the NAPHL will award a 15U Champion.

18U Schedule

16U Schedule

15U Schedule

“With 44 teams involved in playoffs, building a proper and balanced schedule for all teams and divisions was a very deliberate process, especially with elimination games coming into the equation on Sunday,” said NAPHL Director Lucas Trombetta. “We will use the IIHF point system in the round-robin portion of the tournament in order to more closely mirror the USA Hockey National Championship in terms of tournament procedures and point accumulation.  Additionally, each team's playoff opponents were based on the 2016-17 regular season standings so that the top performing teams throughout the 22-game regular season were rewarded for their consistency at each event throughout the year.  The last team standing at the end of this great event will have definitely earned the right to be called Dixon Cup Champions.”

Back in 2015, the NAPHL renamed its Championship Trophies at each level the Dixon Cup. The Dixon Cup is named after Dean Dixon, longtime coach of the NAPHL’s Lansing Capitals, one of the founding members of the NAPHL.

Past Dixon Cup Champions

2016: 18U-Madison Capitols, 16U-Omaha AAA

2015: 18U-New Jersey Jr. Titans, 16U-Omaha AAA

2014: 18U-Omaha AAA, 16U-Lansing Capitals

2013: 18U-Indiana Jr. Ice, 16U-Omaha AAA

2012: 18U-California Titans, 16U-Indiana Jr. Ice, 14U-St. Louis Selects

2011: 18U-DC Capitals, 16U-Pikes Peak Miners, 14U-Rocky Mountain RoughRiders

2010: 18U-California Titans, 16U-Pikes Peak Miners

Bauer True Temper Hockey USA Hockey
USPA Hockeyak Warroad Howies Hockey Tape Lettermen Sports DASH Digital Auction Showdown K1 Sportswear Official Game Puck
HockeyWolf Bethel University Avis Car Rental Budget Car Rental Ace Rent A Car
Neutral Zone CaptainU NSC Super Rink Source One Digital
Let's Play Hockey Let's Play Hockey USA Hockey Magazine MYHockey Rankings

Terms of Use